Lotus logo

Jack Harvey to race for Lotus GP in 2013

Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 10:00
Lotus GP is delighted to announce that Jack Harvey will join their driver line-up for the 2013 GP3 Championship season.

Jack Harvey, GP3, 2013 Lotus GPThe newly crowned Racing Steps Foundation-backed British Formula 3 International Series Champion took to the wheel of a GP3 car in Estoril for the first time in November and instantly impressed the French squad with his speed, adaptability, approach and great maturity for a 19-year old.

Lotus GP has followed Jack's progression from his debut in single-seaters, firstly in Formula BMW Europe, then in the British Formula 3 International Series. Not only do the records in both disciplines speak for themselves, his personality fits in perfectly with Lotus GP's as well.

Jack Harvey said, “The relationship with Lotus GP is fantastic and I'm proud to have the opportunity to enter the GP3 Series with them. I would like to follow in the steps of another Racing Steps Foundation-backed Lotus GP driver, my fellow countryman James Calado, who was GP3 runner-up in 2010. We learned a lot during testing and coming to grips with the new tyres will be very important. I am looking forward to the challenge of being in GP3 and especially with Lotus GP, because the team has a great heritage. If I work the right way and have a good approach, I too should be able to climb the ladder like other great drivers who have joined forces with Lotus GP in the past. Our aim has to be to push for the championship.”

Frederic Vasseur commented, “Jack is the latest Racing Steps Foundation driver to join forces with Lotus GP and I have to say our relationship with the RSF is extremely positive and productive and I already know Jack to be a proud representative of this strong partnership. Despite his young age, Jack's achievements and personality convinced us he has all the qualities needed to succeed in the GP3 Series, where our aim in 2013 will be to return to the first place we lost in the drivers’ championship last year after two consecutive titles with Esteban Gutiérrez and Valtteri Bottas.”