Lotus logo

2014 Season Changes for F1


Teams and drivers will score double points at next year’s final Grand Prix. The move is just one of several regulation changes announced by Formula One racing’s governing body, the FIA, on Monday. Others include allocating permanent race numbers to drivers, a five-second time penalty for minor rule infringements, and - from 2015 - a global cost cap.

Following a meeting of the F1 Strategy Group and the Formula One Commission in Paris, the following items have been unanimously approved:

Points for the last race

Double drivers’ and constructors’ points will be awarded at the final race of the Formula One season - Abu Dhabi for 2014 - in order to maximise focus on the championship until the end of the campaign.

Driver numbers

Drivers will be asked to choose their race number, between 2 and 99, for the duration of their career in the FIA Formula One World Championship. Number 1 will be reserved for the current world champion, should he choose to use it. If more than one driver choses the same number, priority will be given to the driver who finished highest in the previous year’s championship.

Cost cap

The principle of a global cost cap has been adopted. The limit will be applied from January 2015. A working group will be established within the coming days comprising the FIA, representatives of the Commercial Rights Holder and Team representatives. The objective of the working group will be to have regulations approved by the end of June 2014.

New penalties

The principle of a five-second penalty for minor infringements was agreed. In what form such a penalty will be applied will be discussed with the Formula One teams in order that a new regulation be introduced for 2014 season.

New pole position trophy for 2014

Qualifying will take on an even greater importance in 2014 thanks to the introduction of a new trophy that will be awarded to the driver who scores the most pole positions during the season.